Planting Seed/Be Prepared.

I enjoy planting seeds in my greenhouse, watching them sprout and finally, harvesting and enjoying the product.  I hate it when I plant seed and it doesn’t sprout.  I feel like I’ve wasted my time and the seed.

I’m currently involved in a back and forth correspondence with an atheist who wrote me a letter in response to one of my letters to the editor of the newspaper.  He proceeded to imply that I was uneducated and ignorant and that we cannot rely on the Bible for morality since our God is responsible for all kinds of atrocities, and anyway,   there is no God or creator and morality evolves with people.

I sent him a letter and he responded with another, longer, letter, which caused me to think, perhaps he protests too much.  Makes me wonder about his true motives.  Perhaps there is a doubt?  Maybe not.  One cannot always tell  when planting seed whether the soil is ready to sprout the seed.  I hate to plant when I cannot see a harvest, but in this case, it seems that perhaps my role is to just plant the seed and leave the rest with the One who knows.

In the midst of all this, I was prompted by the admonition from I Peter 3:15 (NAS)  “…always being ready to make a defense to everyone who asks you to give an account for the hope that is in you, yet with gentleness and reverence.”  J.P. Moreland’s book, “Love Your God With all Your Mind” suggests believers are not as ready to defend as we should be.  He explains not only why we should be but how we can be.

In addition to the Bible, there are some excellent resources out there from people like JP Moreland, Francis Beckwith, Phil Fernandes Michael Bauman, and many others.  I was delighted to find both video and audio files (for free) online in addition to the books that are available.

I hear a lot from Preppers, who tell us we need to stock up on supplies for whatever is coming.  I don’t disagree, but I think the most important preparation is spiritual because that is and will be the most serious and deadly assault.  Be ready.

1 Comment

Filed under Bible, Daily LIfe

One response to “Planting Seed/Be Prepared.

Leave a Reply

