Blogging thru the Bible/I’m Sorry vs. Repentance

Ex. 8:4  “…Intercede with Adonai to take the frogs away from me and my people, and I will let the people go…”  (CJB)

Ex.  Ex. 8:22  “But when Pharaoh saw that he had been given some relief, he made himself hardhearted and would not listen to them just as Adonai had said would happen.”  (CJB)

Ex.  9:27  “…This time I have sinned:  Adonai is in the right:  I and my people are in the wrong.” (CJB)

Ex.10:  16 , 17   “..I have sinned against Adonai your God and against you.  Now, therefore, please forgive my sin just this once; and intercede with Adonai your God…”  (CJB)

I have often heard that included in the formula for salvation propagated by many in the religious community is the need to acknowledge that we are a sinner.  I have even been told by some in an evangelical church, that repentance isn’t even necessary for salvation.   It seems to me repentance is a constant theme throughout scripture, and without it, there is no forgiveness from God.

Well, just saying you are sorry and admitting that one is a sinner certainly isn’t repentance, as we can see by Pharoah’s words and actions.  He admitted more than once he had sinned, then when God showed mercy, he continued with his outright defiance of God.  His defiance and lack of true repentance led to the death of every firstborn in his kingdom as well as his army, and presumably his own destruction.

Like Pharaoh, we are given many opportunities to repent.  But there is eventually an end to those opportunities.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible

Leave a Reply

